Christine Keller: Light Content

Some photographs of my sister Christine’s “Light Content”, a series of stunning textile art. This is something that is difficult to show on photographs, but one can get an idea. I hope she will exhibit these works somewhere again so more people can see this. I am reblogging these pictures from http://christinekeller.net/blogs/projects/7985191-light-content.

These textiles contain some light reflecting fibers. From certain angles and without extra lighting, you hardly see these.

But if you shine light on the fabric and look at it from the right angle, the light shines back and the hidden picture becomes visible.

The weaving was done on a computer controlled loom and the reflecting fibers are woven into pictures derived from photographs. The rest of the fabric is is dyed in natural colors.

The pictures are normally invisible or hardly visible, but shine brightly if you shine light against the piece, so it is reactive or interactive in a way. In the exhibition shown here, visitors could take lamps and iluminate the pieces from different angels. The effect is really fascinating.

The same piece, viewed from the side, with and without ilumination:

Christine with some of her works:

The pictures used in these pieces show technical buildings like electrical towers or bridges. I am interpreting this as illustrating the tension between the natural and the artificial.

In her Artist’s Statement (http://christinekeller.net/pages/christine-keller) Christine refers to this work in particular. I have cited this section in one comment below.

(Pictures: Christine Keller, http://christinekeller.net/)

8 thoughts on “Christine Keller: Light Content

  1. Your sister is a very talented artist. Absolutely intriguing artwork and such an innovative mix of media and technology. These works should be exhibited again!

    • Let me cite from Christine’s Artist’s Statement on http://christinekeller.net/pages/christine-keller:

      “The main topics my work is informed by are: The Social – Politics – and Technology. Being in the textile research environment the latter is especially important to me. Today we are creating ‘intelligent’ textiles and ‘smart’ materials. This is a fascinating but also engaging field. In developing these new materials I see the tendency of new-media-artwork being led by the technically possible. But are we still in control or is technology controlling us? Is the technically possible also the thing we should aim for? Are we handing over our intelligence to the material? What is the benefit for society and the individual in pursuing these developments? As an Innovator the consideration and knowledge of tradition are essential to my work. I am watching our society changing from humanistic to the post-human.

      In my work “light content” it is important to me that the illuminations, which are needed, are controlled by people rather than by sensors. I enjoy that while using digital weaving, I arrive at a tangible low tech object, and in giving the viewer control over their personal lighting of the show, I arrive at an interactive installation with no electronic sensors but human ones. I am at ease considering this work new media work.”

      I think myself she should exhibit this work again (as well as some others). Maybe the necessary financing could be provided by crowd sourcing.

  2. A previous version of this article stated the fibers where light conducting. Christine told me they are light reflecting, so I have corrected the text.

Leave a Reply

